top of page
Search
  • dennishinkamp

Working with the Oxygen Concentrator

The Concentrator! It condenses or concentrate air oxygen in a pure oxygen flow from 0.25 liters to up to 5.5 liter flow. The green light means it is functioning correctly. This model has a bubbler which adds humidity and makes a difference for patients on oxygen 24/7. When patients switch from a concentrator to an oxygen tank, they feel an immediate sensation of dryness in the flow. Think about being on supplemental oxygen for a year or more and what a difference cool vs dry oxygen might mean. The significance of the oxygen flow dial located to the left of the bubbler cannot be understated. On home recover I started out at 5 liters and ranged down to 1.5 liters. I didn’t really receive any instructions on how to wean of oxygen. I thought I would be independent in one week. It is now my third week. I erroneously thought the faster I wean myself off supplemental oxygen I would be also getting better. My goal was it maintain a 90 percent oximeter oxygen level at rest. If I could do that at 3 liters then I could go to 2.5 liters. The problem was when I was active my oximeter oxygen levels would drop to the high 60s and low 70s and I would go into oxygen stress and my heart rates would hit 120. Enter the pulmonologists. My new goal is the perform simple activities like eating, bushing teeth, showering, and other simple rituals we all take for granted without oxygen distress. Once I do that then we can drop the concentrator flow. I guess I too am now officially a long hauler.



68 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Closing this Blog

There has been no activity on this blog for more than a year. If there is anything on here you would like to capture or if you would like to contact the blog owner, me, Dennis.Hinkamp@usu.edu do so t

Untitled

One of the side effects of Covid-19 for many recovering patients affected by the virus are scarring or fibrous of the lungs. The major symptom is shortness of breath at rest which can exacerbate with

One Year Out

Covid 365 – an unfinished puzzle It has been one year since I received the news that I tested positive for Covid -19 (January 21, 2021). I was hospitalized on January 23, 2021 and spent the first thre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page