top of page
Search
  • dennishinkamp

Walking two working up to running two

It has been 6 months since I received the verification I tested positive for Covid 19 and was admitted to the ICU at St George Intermountain Care Regional Hospital. Ninety days after, I returned to the scene of the crime for a follow up pulmonary function test and lung scan.


Here is a photo attached of what my lungs looked like. They exhibited the gray or ground glass appearance typical of a recovering Covid patients. This is inflammation caused by acute respiratory disease or ARD. It is ARD which claims the lives of Covid patients.



This past week I again returned to the scene of the crime for my 6 month pulmonary follow up. The first step in the follow up was the function test Ninety days ago I charted about 40% of normal Lungs function This time I hit 80% which is within the normal range. The next photo is of my lung scan.


The lung showed that most of the inflammation or ground glass had dissipated. This result was likely due to time and a 45 day regime of high doses of steroids. I am off the steroids completely but still notice some side effects such as increased hair growth. The other changes post-steroids include a marked decrease in my irritability and constant hunger. I have put back on 15 pounds but still am lighter than my pre-Covid days.


However, the scan also shows that Covid may have left me some parting gifts in the form of permanent scarring. I still have shortness of breath likely related to this. My recovery goal remains completing a two mile run. I have no problem walking that distance without using supplemental oxygen. This week I also completed an oxygen test while asleep to determine if I need supplemental oxygen at night. These results are pending.



So I guess you can call me a long hauler. I don’t know if I will ever be able to complete the run, but it remains my goal. Some may wonder why is refer to contracting Covid as a crime. A crime can be defined as any action that taken or not taken (neglect) results in harm to another individual. By definition then, my failure and or the failure of others to a prevent the spread of Covid should be considered criminal. I now am facing the consequences of my crime. But it is not too late for others to avoid it.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Closing this Blog

There has been no activity on this blog for more than a year. If there is anything on here you would like to capture or if you would like to contact the blog owner, me, Dennis.Hinkamp@usu.edu do so t

Untitled

One of the side effects of Covid-19 for many recovering patients affected by the virus are scarring or fibrous of the lungs. The major symptom is shortness of breath at rest which can exacerbate with

One Year Out

Covid 365 – an unfinished puzzle It has been one year since I received the news that I tested positive for Covid -19 (January 21, 2021). I was hospitalized on January 23, 2021 and spent the first thre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page