top of page
Search
  • dennishinkamp

The early part of my 19 days in the ICU

My ICU too and all the amenities. This would be my home and my caregivers my family for the next 19 days. In the top center I’d a large clock that o would watch and use to monitor my breathing and breathing rhythm. My respiratory therapist instructed my to inhale with my nose and breathe out through my mouth. As hard as I tried I failed. I am a nose breather. The high flow 02 impeded my natural breathing. I found myself trying to gulp oxygen at 55 l and asked it be dropped. I found at 45 to 40 l I was better able to breathe. This is another example of caregivers working as a partner with me. In the lower part of the photo is my foot. My physicians told me i needed to get out of bed every day snd work to get better. Early in my hospitalization I sought to go the bed early and get up late. I sought more sleep thinking it would make time go faster while relieving my the despair and confusion that accompanied my isolation. Because I was in a covid unit the hospital has strict but necessary guidance regarding visitation. None of my family fit the criteria. But my caregivers became my family. Not only ensuring my care and needs where met but going out of their way to make me feel human. Little things like warm blankets to keep me warm or warm wipes to bath with to hot water and towels to shave. But most importantly they made time to learn about who I was and in doing so I learned more about them. I learned man

The surgeon who inserted my chest tube made the time to not only explain what happened but diagramed it and what he did. He apologized for the quality of the artwork. But it was crystal clear to me.


y had also contacted covid as part of their work. I learned also many have lingering effects. Yet they continue to provide me and other covid patients unconditional care

50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Closing this Blog

There has been no activity on this blog for more than a year. If there is anything on here you would like to capture or if you would like to contact the blog owner, me, Dennis.Hinkamp@usu.edu do so t

Untitled

One of the side effects of Covid-19 for many recovering patients affected by the virus are scarring or fibrous of the lungs. The major symptom is shortness of breath at rest which can exacerbate with

One Year Out

Covid 365 – an unfinished puzzle It has been one year since I received the news that I tested positive for Covid -19 (January 21, 2021). I was hospitalized on January 23, 2021 and spent the first thre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page