top of page
Search
  • dennishinkamp

Tethered to oxygen, but improving

Many covid survivors discharged from hospitalization will require supplemental oxygen 24/7 to support breathing and reduce respiratory distress. In my case I was discharged when I could demonstrate I could sustain a 90% blood oxygen level as monitored by a finger oximeter. The hospital discharge nurse contacted a local supplier who delivered 4 tanks containing a 5 hour supply at 2. They also delivered a concentrator and 50 and 75 foot lines with cannula to feed me oxygen through my nose. The tanks are to be used for movements away from the home or in the home and as a back up in case of power out age. I found the tanks reduced my anxiety and stress more than the line. Something about being tethered to a machine and dragging a life supporting 75 foot line seemed scary. A number of times the line got caught or tangled and an alarm would go off on the concentrator to warn us. Over time I have adapted and rather than drag the line carry it as a lariat by my side. As I move I play out line and recover it. This helped reduce the anxiety. The goal over time is to sustain a 90% or better oxygen level while increasing activity and reduce the oxygen flow and distress. I had to go back to 5 L the first few days and gradually to 4 L then 3 L. On March 1st I am at 2 L. The seemingly slow rate of progress can wear on the patient and caregivers. To mitigate this we gave thanks and rejoiced in even the smallest gain.



30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Closing this Blog

There has been no activity on this blog for more than a year. If there is anything on here you would like to capture or if you would like to contact the blog owner, me, Dennis.Hinkamp@usu.edu do so t

Untitled

One of the side effects of Covid-19 for many recovering patients affected by the virus are scarring or fibrous of the lungs. The major symptom is shortness of breath at rest which can exacerbate with

One Year Out

Covid 365 – an unfinished puzzle It has been one year since I received the news that I tested positive for Covid -19 (January 21, 2021). I was hospitalized on January 23, 2021 and spent the first thre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page