top of page
Search
  • dennishinkamp

Progress, One Dog Walk at a Time

Achieving Goals - One Step a Time. The photo taken on April 1, 2021 captured the first time I was able to walk my dogs. We didn’t walk far, but the key word here is walked. This was made possible by my portable oxygen regulator and mini-tank. This was one of the goals I set as part of my recovery.


While hospitalized I wondered if I would ever be able to do this let alone see them or my family. While hospitalized I set small goals like going down from 100 percent oxygen to 90 percent concentration. For physical therapy it was to first stand and march in place and then walk to the end of the bed. On home recovery it became walking the hallway a couple times a day to being able to take a shower myself. Now it has become walking my dogs once a day.


My point is when these goals are viewed independently by someone who has not been hospitalized because of COVID they seem trivial. But, when viewed within the context and from the perspective of a recovering COVID patient they are monumental. As a university professor and former military commander I set goals for my students and soldiers to achieve within the framework of a research project or a training year. We would also set measurable objectives under each goal that would allow us to monitor their progress. The expectation is that their progress would be rapid and readily visible.


This is not the case for the COVID patient. For progress to be made toward achieving the goal of a completing a simple walk, the COVID patients' lungs would to be in agreement. Most COVID patients measure progress in terms of how well they can manage the anxiety and oxygen distress caused by simple movements. Everything has to be planned and calculated within the context of oxygen supply and demand. The failure to do this can result in unintended consequences such as falls, severe headaches, and incessant coughing spells.


Thus, for the COVID patient the step taken is often more important than the next one to be taken.




31 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Closing this Blog

There has been no activity on this blog for more than a year. If there is anything on here you would like to capture or if you would like to contact the blog owner, me, Dennis.Hinkamp@usu.edu do so t

Untitled

One of the side effects of Covid-19 for many recovering patients affected by the virus are scarring or fibrous of the lungs. The major symptom is shortness of breath at rest which can exacerbate with

One Year Out

Covid 365 – an unfinished puzzle It has been one year since I received the news that I tested positive for Covid -19 (January 21, 2021). I was hospitalized on January 23, 2021 and spent the first thre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page