top of page
Search
  • dennishinkamp

Oh Yeah, forgot to tell you how I ended up in the ICU

Writers say the best way to tell a story is to start at the beginning. This is a photo of a 200 cc Coleman mini bike. I purchased two at a St George sporting goods store. They offered a military discount so the price was great. I bought these for my kids to use when visiting. They require some assembly. Also being a good dad I would have to test ride them to make sure I put them together correctly. That is my official statement, in reality the kid in me won out. So on January 18 Martin Luther King day I loaded one up on my truck and headed for BLM public land near St George that I was familiar with. Arriving on site I unloaded the mini bike, started it with one pull, and headed down the road at a blistering 20 miles per hour. The bike worked great. However as a turned I hit loose gravel spilling the bike and hitting the ground with my left shoulder and chest. The impact took the wind out of me. I recovered quickly, uprighted the bike and headed back to the truck. The problem was I had not correctly adjusted the handle throttle and when I turned I hit the throttle causing the bike to spin out on the gravel. My shoulder and chest pain got worse. Thinking I cracked ribs or worse I went to first Instacare for x-rays and a D-dimer test to look for elevated blood protein. I got the test results in 3 hours and was told to go to the emergency (ER) immediately because my protein levels where elevated. At the ER

I was given a c-scan. The good news was I did not have a pulmonary embolism ( blood clots) but there was clouding suggesting COVID-19. I was tested and received the positive test result on the first anniversary of the first confirmed Covid case in the US. I thought I would just be able to quarantine at home. On January 26th I was admitted to the St George Regional Intermountain Hospital and began the fight for my life.



110 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Closing this Blog

There has been no activity on this blog for more than a year. If there is anything on here you would like to capture or if you would like to contact the blog owner, me, Dennis.Hinkamp@usu.edu do so t

Untitled

One of the side effects of Covid-19 for many recovering patients affected by the virus are scarring or fibrous of the lungs. The major symptom is shortness of breath at rest which can exacerbate with

One Year Out

Covid 365 – an unfinished puzzle It has been one year since I received the news that I tested positive for Covid -19 (January 21, 2021). I was hospitalized on January 23, 2021 and spent the first thre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page