top of page
Search
  • dennishinkamp

My Hospital Experience Feb 13, 2021

Updated: Mar 14, 2021

I continue to make small gains. With each breath I fight for I have been rewarded with another and another. I know we have stuff on line about coping with covid but not sure share an experience of one who has been hospitalized. Others may find solace in what I experienced. I learned I had covid on the 1st year anniversary of the first case reported in the US. I came to the Er in St George because I had a mini bike accident on Jan 21. I injured my right shoulder and chest. I had a pulmonary embolism years ago and thought I might be having it again. After a c scan. I learned it was clear but clouding in my lungs suggested COVID. I was tested and the next evening it was confirmed. I was naive to think I would just have mild symptoms. By day two my O2 levels dropped to 60 percent. My wife took me to ER. She did not contact covid. We pretty much had been to the same places. I practiced social distancing and mask wearing.

So I don’t know how I contacted it. But that is not relevant. When I got to ER I was admitted. I was borderline line on being put on a ventilator. The hospital staff was honest. They told me if I was put on a ventilator my chance of survival was low. I was dying. They also told me I can choose to fight it. I choose to fight. I was not afraid of dying. I was afraid I had not done all I needed to do to take care of my family and others who depend on me. So I fought for every breath because of the chance of getting another. I also had a collapsed lung a pneumothorax. They had to insert a tube to restore fn. It worked. I have no visitors but can maintain contact via my phone. On a ventilator I would have lost that. The isolation contributed to despair and heightened my confusion.

But knowing I had the thoughts support and prayers of others gave me strength. Brian and others have been support. As I worked through my darkest minutes and hours I also found strength in the hospital medical teams. I was astounded to learn many of them had contacted COVID working with COVID patients. Also many still have lingering effects. Lost taste stamina trouble sleeping body and headaches PTSD. Yet they persevere. They made me feel human. Their respect and compassion their commitment to their patients is unconditional. I remember hearing experiences of others as background noise on tv. But I now truly understand. It has been said trues heroes are those who take risks to serve others. I live in the company of heroes Before I contacted covid I noticed many people here in St George are somewhat cavalier about the CDC guidance. I know people say it is about their personal freedom. I understand that. But freedom is not free. With freedom come great responsibility to protect the rights of others and the community.

By doing our part we can help our heroes to better help those they serve and need them. Wearing masks following the guidance getting vaccinated are simple ways to show we care about freedom for all. I do not want anyone to go through what I am going through. I have a ways to go. But I would not be able to share this email had it not been for my heroes. I want to find a way to share my experience in a way that may be others may find comfort. I don’t want sympathy. I desire for all to have a greater appreciation of the heroes and how to help them. I share this with you because I value your insights and guidance. Please feel free to share with ken Brian mike and others. I have to find a way to help. The power of Extension has served me so well. I hope you have a great weekend.

108 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Closing this Blog

There has been no activity on this blog for more than a year. If there is anything on here you would like to capture or if you would like to contact the blog owner, me, Dennis.Hinkamp@usu.edu do so t

Untitled

One of the side effects of Covid-19 for many recovering patients affected by the virus are scarring or fibrous of the lungs. The major symptom is shortness of breath at rest which can exacerbate with

One Year Out

Covid 365 – an unfinished puzzle It has been one year since I received the news that I tested positive for Covid -19 (January 21, 2021). I was hospitalized on January 23, 2021 and spent the first thre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page