top of page
Search
  • dennishinkamp

Long-term effects of COVID-19 on your Heart

Chronic Diastolic Heart Failure?

Covid-19s major effect on those who contract the virus and are hospitalized is Acute Respiratory Distress (ARD). This is often listed as primary cause of death for covid patients. For patients who survive ARD, their and the lives of their families may be changed forever. Depending on the patient, their age, overall health, and length hospitalization there could also be a number of long term Covid-19 related consequences. Those who contracted the virus and were not hospitalized, may also experience life long consequences. While hospitalized, I learned that many of my caregivers who also contracted the virus are now coping with new health realities


When I was discharged from the hospital I received orders regarding follow up care, prescriptions, and my diagnosis. Almost hidden on the bottom of 16 diagnosis I received was “Chronic Diastolic Heart Failure (CDHF).” I really wasn’t made aware of this until after a week after discharge. But, my spouse had focused on this from day one. She contacted my daughter, the nurse, and did some follow up research. Diastolic heart failure is characterized by a stiff left ventricle which leads to increased heart pressure . As I read more, I learned that the prognosis for patients with the disease is bleak with about 50% having an average life expectancy of less than 5 years. Was this a consequence of covid?


In my last blog, about radical acceptance of covid, I discussed acceptance, agreement, and complacency. Although I accept what happened to me, it doesn’t mean I have to agree with it and become complacent about addressing my diagnosis. After my pulmonologist appointment, we scheduled an echocardiogram. I have never had one, but have been in the room with my son countless times during them as we journeyed together through his heart disease. The echocardiogram is an ultrasound used by cardiologists to assess heart pressures and functions. It can be used to detect CDHF. The photo is of my 30 minute echocardiogram. This was taken on March 16, 2020. The results are not immediate. So we wait - as have other covid patients and their families to learn if covid has yet handed us another evil twist.




80 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Closing this Blog

There has been no activity on this blog for more than a year. If there is anything on here you would like to capture or if you would like to contact the blog owner, me, Dennis.Hinkamp@usu.edu do so t

Untitled

One of the side effects of Covid-19 for many recovering patients affected by the virus are scarring or fibrous of the lungs. The major symptom is shortness of breath at rest which can exacerbate with

One Year Out

Covid 365 – an unfinished puzzle It has been one year since I received the news that I tested positive for Covid -19 (January 21, 2021). I was hospitalized on January 23, 2021 and spent the first thre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page