top of page
Search
  • dennishinkamp

Happy to be reading again.

One of the things Covid also took from me was literature. It robbed me of my interest in reading. Prior to my contracting covid I would read two to three books at the same time. Most of this reading was done a night in preparation for bed. I know that goes against the grain of most sleep relaxation guidance, but old habits are hard to break. My spouse, aware of my reading habits, dropped off two books at the hospital, and a journal for me to write down my thoughts. I struggled to do both as I battled to breath. Instead I opted for watching old episodes of Andy Griffin, Rawhide, Wagon Train, and the like. I tried to watch the news, but found it pretty depressing as the coverage focused on the events of January 6th. Just what I needed was more depression! It wasn’t until this week, my passion for reading was re-ignited. As you could suspect, it is pretty hard to sleep prone (on your stomach) and read, but, my spouse bought me the book that made the effort worth it. The book is about Paul Kalanithi’ life and his death. A gifted neurosurgeon, who was taken from us well before his time, Dr. Kalanithi gave me back something covid could tried to take - hope in humankind.




74 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Closing this Blog

There has been no activity on this blog for more than a year. If there is anything on here you would like to capture or if you would like to contact the blog owner, me, Dennis.Hinkamp@usu.edu do so t

Untitled

One of the side effects of Covid-19 for many recovering patients affected by the virus are scarring or fibrous of the lungs. The major symptom is shortness of breath at rest which can exacerbate with

One Year Out

Covid 365 – an unfinished puzzle It has been one year since I received the news that I tested positive for Covid -19 (January 21, 2021). I was hospitalized on January 23, 2021 and spent the first thre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page