top of page
Search
  • dennishinkamp

First Shot in the Arm

Most who contracted COVID 19 and where hospitalized and survived have been advised by their providers to delay being vaccinated for at least 90 days. It appears the 90 day window emerged from research suggesting that people who have tested positive for COVID may retain antibodies in their systems for this period.


I am using the word "may" to reflect the uncertainty in the face of emerging science. I was cleared last week by my pulmonologist and was vaccinated this week at a local pharmacy. I went on line to schedule and found I could be vaccinated almost anytime, in fact within 30 minutes of logging on to the scheduling site.


When I arrived at the pharmacy I asked "if they had a lot of demand." I was told I was the only one that had reserved a time today and that since February the demand for vaccinations had really fallen off. When I was there, they did have a walk in. I received the first dose of the Moderna vaccine and scheduled the second for June.


The actual vaccination was uneventful. A day after I noticed some swelling of my face and neck, which was a listed possible side effect, but no other issues. The swelling dissipated within 24 hours. I am not sure I can attribute the swelling to the vaccine as I am also weaning back on my steroids from 40 mg to 30 mg. The swelling could also have resulted because of this change. The photo is of my official vaccination card.


This past week a lot of businesses have dropped their mask requirements in lieu of an honor system- if you have been vaccinated you don’t need to wear a mask. For an honor system to work you must have buy-in. Right now most states are reporting in the range of 30 percent of their population vaccinated. You be the judge.


This week my spouse had a nurse stop by her store. My wife has posted the CDC guidance regarding masks and vaccinations on the front door. The nurse was not wearing a mask. After shopping for awhile the nurse engaged my spouse in conversation.The conversation drifted to COVID. The nurse stated she felt it had been overblown and likened it to the common flu.


Well, you can probably guess where the conversation went from there. A nurse got a re-education. To date we have lost, in the US alone, over 600,000 loved ones to COVID. The history of pandemics suggests we may have another spike this fall. This spike can be mitigated by the vaccines. A good book to read about the American mind and vaccinations is Polio: An American Story by David Oshinsky. The book chronicles and captures the spirit and willingness of thousands of American youth and their families that we’re willing to participate in national trials in the search for a polio cure. Their personal responsibility and sacrifice lead to the eradication of polio in the US.





30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Closing this Blog

There has been no activity on this blog for more than a year. If there is anything on here you would like to capture or if you would like to contact the blog owner, me, Dennis.Hinkamp@usu.edu do so t

Untitled

One of the side effects of Covid-19 for many recovering patients affected by the virus are scarring or fibrous of the lungs. The major symptom is shortness of breath at rest which can exacerbate with

One Year Out

Covid 365 – an unfinished puzzle It has been one year since I received the news that I tested positive for Covid -19 (January 21, 2021). I was hospitalized on January 23, 2021 and spent the first thre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page