top of page
Search
  • dennishinkamp

COVID and the Heart

Upon discharge every COVID patient will receive discharge orders which will include follow up appointment instructions, medications, and a list of diagnosis. My diagnosis list consisted of 16 items. Some were per-existing conditions gleaned from my medical records and others were related the my prolonged hospitalization and COVID. Several of the diagnosis were related to oxygen and the ability of my heart and lungs to supply adequate oxygen to my body.


The human body has been called an obligate oxygen anaerobe. Everything we do, to include cell replacement requires oxygen. Covid-19 disrupts that process. For most, COVID attacks the pulmonary system causing pneumonia symptoms. For others the attack can include cardiac and neurological processes. My diagnosis included chronic diastolic heart failure. To unravel exactly what that meant for me and my family required an echo-cardiogram and cardiology appointment. The photo was taken after my recent appointment. The good news was my heart pressures were within the acceptable range for a man my age.


The echo-cardiogram showed some thickening of the left ventricle, but whether this could be attributed to COVID or was pre-existing is unclear. The follow up treatment includes that which would be considered typical for most cardiac patients; a better diet, more exercise, medication, and regular follow ups. Regardless if you contracted COVID or not, this sounds like pretty good advice. For me, I will take it to heart.




30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Closing this Blog

There has been no activity on this blog for more than a year. If there is anything on here you would like to capture or if you would like to contact the blog owner, me, Dennis.Hinkamp@usu.edu do so t

Untitled

One of the side effects of Covid-19 for many recovering patients affected by the virus are scarring or fibrous of the lungs. The major symptom is shortness of breath at rest which can exacerbate with

One Year Out

Covid 365 – an unfinished puzzle It has been one year since I received the news that I tested positive for Covid -19 (January 21, 2021). I was hospitalized on January 23, 2021 and spent the first thre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page