top of page
Search
  • dennishinkamp

COVID-19 - The Virus that Keeps on Giving

One of the side effects of Covid-19 for many recovering patients affected by the virus are scarring or fibrous of the lungs. The major symptom is shortness of breath at rest which can exacerbate with activity. The shortness of breath results in the patient gasping or gulping for air.


In my case, I can maintain my O2 levels when at rest and when walking at 1 liter oxygen flow. But, if I try to talk I experience shortness of breath resulting in oxygen stress. You have heard of the adage of folks who "can’t walk and chew gum at the same time?" Well, I resemble that remark. I can’t talk and walk at the same time.


To find out exactly where I am in the recovery process, I completed a pulmonary function evaluation and had another CAT scan of my lungs. The photo included in this blog is of me entering the scanner. I had a scan completed on Jan 20 2021 before I was admitted to the hospital. That scan clearly showed the ground glass of covid pneumonia. This scan will show if I have residual effects.


As you are inserted into the scanner the first warning message you see is “Don’t look directly into the flashing lights.” I suspect that however the first thing that many who have these scans done will forget. When the flashing lights come on, the first thing your eyes do is move the light. Then the brain kicks in and says, hey dummy don’t look at the flashing lights.“


The scan took about 5 minutes. The pulmonary function test about an hour. On Monday I will learn the results and what they mean for my recovery and the rest of my life.




26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Closing this Blog

There has been no activity on this blog for more than a year. If there is anything on here you would like to capture or if you would like to contact the blog owner, me, Dennis.Hinkamp@usu.edu do so t

Untitled

One of the side effects of Covid-19 for many recovering patients affected by the virus are scarring or fibrous of the lungs. The major symptom is shortness of breath at rest which can exacerbate with

One Year Out

Covid 365 – an unfinished puzzle It has been one year since I received the news that I tested positive for Covid -19 (January 21, 2021). I was hospitalized on January 23, 2021 and spent the first thre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page