top of page
Search
  • dennishinkamp

After 17 days on a feeding tube

Updated: Mar 1, 2021

My first solid food after 17 days on a feeding tube. It took me an hour to savory each bite. I have been hospitalized before and eaten hospital food. If the word ever gets out in St George about the quality of food at the hospital there will be waiting lines to get in a mile long. The chefs employed at the hospital are artisans. I don’t know if not having food for 17 heighten my taste but the food was phenomenal. I did not lose my sense of taste or smell. Although I still have a ways to go to recover - I am alive and the air never smelled as sweet or food as good


The Land of OZ! This issue pan of my 4th floor recovery in the covid unit at St George Regional Hospital, St George, Utah. I am as moved to the room on Saturday February 13 and discharged on February 17, 2021. The room was about the same dimensions as my ICU room. As with ICU it was considered an covid environment so anyone entering had to be fully masked and gowned. Unknown to me, my spouse had also tested positive for covid. She did not tell me because of the fear of heightening my anxiety that she would also end up in ICU. Thankfully her symptoms were minor. Because she had tested positive for the virus and quarantined she was able to visit me for the first time on February 16. The surprise visit exhilarated my mind, body, and spirits

48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Closing this Blog

There has been no activity on this blog for more than a year. If there is anything on here you would like to capture or if you would like to contact the blog owner, me, Dennis.Hinkamp@usu.edu do so t

Untitled

One of the side effects of Covid-19 for many recovering patients affected by the virus are scarring or fibrous of the lungs. The major symptom is shortness of breath at rest which can exacerbate with

One Year Out

Covid 365 – an unfinished puzzle It has been one year since I received the news that I tested positive for Covid -19 (January 21, 2021). I was hospitalized on January 23, 2021 and spent the first thre

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page